Flag of the District of Columbia
Flag of the District of Columbia (Courtesy of dpw.dc.gov)

D.C. updated Tuesday its list of high-risk states from which any arriving travelers must quarantine for two weeks under order of the mayor.

The 29-state list now includes Montana and Ohio, while Alaska and Arizona were removed. Maryland and Virginia are exempt from the order.

The city health department, under the aegis of Mayor Muriel Bowser’s order issued a few months ago, has mandated anyone coming into the District from a high-risk state for nonessential business to self-quarantine for 14 days upon their arrival in the city.

Individuals traveling from high-risk states after essential travel or arriving in the District for essential travel are required to self-monitor for symptoms of the coronavirus for 14 days, and if indications of the virus emerge, they are to self-quarantine and seek medical advice or testing.

The states currently on the list are Alabama, Arkansas, California, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah and Wisconsin.

The list will be updated on Sept. 21.

WI Guest Author

This correspondent is a guest contributor to The Washington Informer.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *