D.C. residents line up for coronavirus testing at Bread for the City in Northwest on May 19. (Roy Lewis/The Washington Informer)
**FILE** D.C. residents line up for coronavirus testing at Bread for the City in Northwest on May 19, 2020. (Roy Lewis/The Washington Informer)

Alaska, Arizona, Delaware, West Virginia and Wyoming have been added to D.C.’s list of high-risk states for which travel to or from should be carefully monitored, the city’s health department announced Monday.

As a result of a mayor’s order first issued in late July, anyone coming into the District from a high-risk state (within the prior 14 days) who traveled for nonessential activities will be required to self-quarantine for 14 days from their arrival in the city, a department said.

Individuals traveling from high-risk states after essential travel or arriving in the District for essential travel are required to self-monitor for symptoms of the coronavirus for 14 days and, if they show signs or experience symptoms of the virus, they are to self-quarantine and seek medical advice or testing, the news release said.

The department updates the list every two weeks. California, Hawaii and Ohio were removed from the list Monday. Maryland and Virginia are exempt from the mayor’s order.

The other states currently on the list are Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, North Carolina, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah and Wisconsin.

The list will be updated Oct. 5.

WI Guest Author

This correspondent is a guest contributor to The Washington Informer.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *