Posted inInternational

Senators Urge Trump Administration to Halt Deportation of Mauritanians

Sen. Kamala D. Harris (D-CA) and Reps. Bennie G. Thompson, Jerrold Nadler, Zoe Lofgren and Joyce Beatty led a group of lawmakers in a bicameral letter calling on Department of Homeland Security Secretary Kirstjen Nielsen and Secretary of State Mike Pompeo to cease the deportation of Black Mauritanian nationals, who face the threat of race-based discrimination, violence or slavery if forced to return to Mauritania.