Barbados’ 54th anniversary of independence will be celebrated with a salute to the nation and the presentation of the National Independence Awards in National Heroes Square, Bridgetown, on Monday, beginning at 8 a.m.

The ceremony will include the presentation of National Independence Awards by Governor General Dame Sandra Mason; the address to the nation by Prime Minister Mia Mottley; and the salute to the nation.

The Barbados Regiment will provide the guard of honor, while the other troops on parade will be the flag orderlies and the Massed Band of the Royal Barbados Police Force and the Barbados Defense Force (BDF).

Also in attendance will be Chief Justice Patterson Cheltenham; leader of the opposition, Joseph Atherley; National Hero The Right Excellent Sir Garfield Sobers; Commissioner of Police Tyrone Griffith; Chief of Staff of the BDF, Colonel Glyne Grannum, national independence awardees and specially invited guests.

WI Guest Author

This correspondent is a guest contributor to The Washington Informer.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *