The Association of Black Cardiologists, an inclusive organization dedicated to eliminating disparities in cardiovascular diseases, has elected Felix Sogade as chair of its board of directors and Barbara Hutchinson as president.

The new officers were inducted in April at the association’s General Membership Dinner held during the American College of Cardiology’s Scientific Sessions in Chicago.

“We are very excited to welcome Dr. Sogade and Dr. Hutchinson to their new leadership roles,” said Malcolm Taylor, chairman of the nominating committee. “Their outstanding contributions to ABC across many sectors and proven leadership and business experiences will serve our organization well as we embrace the challenges and opportunities ahead of us.”


Sogade, associate professor of Medicine at Mercer University, currently serves as the CEO/president of Georgia Arrhythmia Consultants and Research Institute. He is board-certified in clinical cardiac electrophysiology and cardiovascular diseases and has provided services to the mid-Georgia area for nearly 20 years.

“ABC as an organization and its constituent members have played a tremendous role in my personal career development,” Sogade said. “21 years ago I was awarded the very first ABC fellowship to continue my training in Cardiac Electrophysiology at Duke University. I am honored today to serve as chairman of the board and shall continue to remain appreciative for this opportunity. This depth of gratitude makes commitment and determination to ensure success of this organization unfaltering.”

Hutchinson, an instructor in the Department of Internal Medicine at University of Maryland Hospital and noted international speaker, is the managing partner of Chesapeake Cardiac Care, a cardiology practice in Annapolis. She is board-certified in both cardiovascular disease and sleep medicine as well as a fellow of the American College of Cardiology.

“I am thrilled to accept the board and membership appointment as president,” Hutchinson said. “The organization is at an exciting place in its 42-year history and I look forward to advancing its mission through the collaborative efforts of our board, our membership and staff.”

ABC also elected new board members Aaron Horne Jr., MD, MBA; Onyedika Ilonze, MD, MPH; Heather Kinder; Wilma McGee, RN; Cheryl Pegus, MD; and Chima Nwaukwa, MD. Returning members and new officers include Andre Artis, MD, Mahfouz El Shahawy, MD (Secretary), Mark Thompson (Treasurer); and Michael Weamer, CAE.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.