D.C. Mayor Muriel Bowser (Courtesy of Bowser via Twitter)
**FILE** D.C. Mayor Muriel Bowser (Courtesy of Bowser via Twitter)

D.C. Mayor Muriel Bowser’s mandate for travelers from 27 states to self-quarantine when they arrive due to the coronavirus took effect Monday.

Anyone visiting or returning to the District for nonessential activities from those states will need to isolate themselves and self-monitor for symptoms of the coronavirus for 14 days.

The city health department’s list of states includes Arkansas, Arizona, Alabama, California, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Iowa, Kansas, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Washington and Wisconsin.

People traveling to the District for essential business are not required to self-quarantine, WTOP reported. Travel to and from Maryland and Virginia is also exempt from Bowser’s order.

The order is valid until Aug. 10, when District officials will revisit and, if necessary, update the list.

WI Guest Author

This correspondent is a guest contributor to The Washington Informer.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.