Bill Cosby
**FILE** Comedian Bill Cosby exits a Montgomery County, Pennsylvania, courtroom on April 20 during his sexual assault trial. (Pool photo)

Montgomery County, Pennsylvania, Judge Steven T. O’Neill has set Sept. 24 as the date for the sentencing of comedian Bill Cosby, who was convicted last month of three counts of aggravated indecent assault.

Cosby, who will turn 81 this summer, faces up to 30 years in prison.

His attorneys have said they plan to appeal the conviction, which stemmed from an incident between Cosby and former Temple University employee Andrea Constand more than 14 years ago.

Although prosecutors argued that the incident — which Cosby has maintained was consensual contact between he and Constand — occurred sometime in January 2004, testimony, travel and expense records placed into evidence by both sides appeared to suggest it occurred in 2003.

That’s important because had the incident occurred in 2003, the case should have been tossed out because Pennsylvania’s statute of limitations would have expired.

O’Neill decided to allow the jury to determine whether the defense proved that the statute of limitations had expired — although many legal experts said that’s a call that’s almost always made by the judge.

Cosby has been ordered to remain in his Elkins Park, Pennsylvania, home on house arrest since the verdicts. He’s been outfitted with a court-ordered GPS monitoring system to track his movements and is only allowed to visit his local lawyer’s office or go to doctor’s appointment, all of which must be cleared by the court.

His attorneys had asked that the judge delay sentencing until the end of the year. In Pennsylvania, defendants are typically sentenced within 90 days of a conviction.

O’Neill initially said he would schedule Cosby’s sentencing for July, but a court order issued Tuesday, May 15 did not detail why the judge changed his mind.

O’Neill also for the first time publicly identified members of the jury that convicted the comedian.

The judge wanted a cooling-off period before releasing the names, but said he was bound to release the identities because of the state Supreme Court’s ruling that said they’re public under the First Amendment, despite prosecutors’ request to keep the jurors’ names secret.

O’Neill warned the media to respect jurors who refuse interviews or want privacy. He told jurors not to divulge what other members of the jury said during deliberations.

In a statement, the jury said it had “absolutely no reservations” about convicting Cosby.

The names of the 12 jurors and six alternates are:

Quaison Bates
Donna Bauer
Gwen Brokenborough
Cheryl Carmel
Shawn Elijah
Thomas Gieringer
Brian Ko
Nicholas Lynch
Kenneth Matthews
Theresa Olivieri
Joseph O’Neill
Kim Price-Ford
Dianne Scelza
Stephanie Shaffer
Harrison Snyder
Michael Tuzzi
William Walsh

Stacy M. Brown is a senior writer for The Washington Informer and the senior national correspondent for the Black Press of America. Stacy has more than 25 years of journalism experience and has authored...

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *