D.C. officials added eight states to its list of high-risk states that its residents should avoid nonessential travel to.

Arizona, Colorado, Connecticut, Massachusetts, Michigan, Ohio, Pennsylvania and Rhode Islands join 31 other states on the District’s list, which consist of states with a seven-day moving average of daily new coronavirus cases at 10 or more per 100,000 persons, the mayor’s office said Monday.

Anyone coming into the District from a high-risk state within the past 14 days who traveled for nonessential activities is required to self-quarantine for 14 days from their arrival in the city, as mandated by Mayor Muriel Bowser in late July.

The order also said people traveling from high-risk states after essential travel or arriving into the District for essential travel are required to self-monitor for COVID-19 symptoms for 14 days. For those with signs of or experience of virus symptoms, they are to self-quarantine and seek medical advice or testing.

The District didn’t remove any states from the list. Maryland and Virginia are exempted from the order.

The list will be updated on Nov. 2, the mayor’s office said.

As of Monday, the District has recorded 16,395 coronavirus cases, including 641 deaths, according to city statistics.

WI Guest Author

This correspondent is a guest contributor to The Washington Informer.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *