Dallas Cowboys wide receiver Dez Bryant (88) watches the scoreboard as officials review a catch by Bryant during the second half of an NFL divisional playoff football game Sunday, Jan. 11, 2015, in Green Bay, Wis. The call was reversed. (AP Photo/Nam Y. Huh)
Dallas Cowboys wide receiver Dez Bryant (88) catches a pass during the second half of an NFL divisional playoff football game Sunday, Jan. 11, 2015, in Green Bay, Wis. The play was reversed. The Packers won 26-21. (AP Photo/Matt Ludtke)
Dallas Cowboys wide receiver Dez Bryant (88) catches a pass during the second half of an NFL divisional playoff football game Sunday, Jan. 11, 2015, in Green Bay, Wis. The play was reversed. The Packers won 26-21. (AP Photo/Matt Ludtke)

Mike Foss, USA TODAY

(USA Today)—There is much consternation, despair, and glee surrounding Dez Bryant’s miraculous catch – not catch – which doomed the Dallas Cowboys.

NFL Vice President of Officiating Dean Blandino attempted to explain.

That of course, is the rule. If a player is goes to the ground in the process of making a catch, he must maintain control throughout the entire process of contacting the ground.

That doesn’t mean the ball can’t touch the ground – it can. The player only needs to maintain control of the ball. Bryant lost it momentarily as he extended for the goal line.

READ MORE

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.

Yes, I would like to receive emails from Washington Informer Newspaper. Sign me up!


By submitting this form, you are consenting to receive marketing emails from: Washington Informer Newspaper, 3117 Martin Luther King Jr. Ave SE, Washington, DC, 20032, https://www.washingtoninformer.com. You can revoke your consent to receive emails at any time by using the SafeUnsubscribe® link, found at the bottom of every email. Emails are serviced by Constant Contact