William James (left), 28, of Greenbelt, Maryland, listens to Election Day instructions from a poll worker at Greenbelt Community Center on Nov. 3. Photo by William J. Ford
William James (left), 28, of Greenbelt, Maryland, listens to Election Day instructions from a poll worker at Greenbelt Community Center on Nov. 3. Photo by William J. Ford

The majority of Prince George’s County voters in Tuesday’s election decided to keep the status quo.

According to unofficial results, voters in the cities of Bowie and College Park will have a few new people serving on council.

However, all the incumbents retained their seats in the cities of Greenbelt and Laurel.

Here are the winners in this year’s election:


Approximately 40,439 registered voters casted a ballot in the city of Bowie.

G. Frederick Robinson retained his seat as mayor with 4,164 votes. His two opponents, Councilman Dennis Brady and Keith Alphonso Jackson, received 2,093 and 249 votes, respectively.

It was close race for the two at-large seats. Councilmen James L. Marcos received 3,630 votes and Henri Gardner got 3,575. Incumbent Dufour Wollfley had 3,261 votes.

Because Marcos and Gardner sought the two at-large seats, two new people would be elected to two of the city’s four districts. However, only one seat in each district was open.

In District 1, Michael P. Esteve received the most votes at 844 to replace Marcos. The other opponents were Monica Best-James with 467 votes; Jenmaire Dewberry with 308; and Pauletta G. Handy with 97.

Incumbent Diane M. Polangin will retain the seat in District 2 after receiving 1,324 votes. Her challenger, Kelly P. Rowe, received 590 votes.

Courtney D. Glass will replace Gardner as the District 3 council member receiving 708 votes. Behind Glass was James Scott Hessberger Jr. with 379 votes and Babatunde O. Alegbeleye with 170 votes.

Councilman Isaac C. Trouth retained his seat in District 4 with 1,079 votes. Craig M. Muckle got 429 votes.

College Park

After Mayor Andrew M. Fellows decided not to seek re-election, more than 17,000 registered voters came out to elect a new mayor.

The majority of voters chose Councilman Patrick L. Wojahn as the city’s new mayor with 1,236 votes. He defeated Councilwoman Denise C. Mitchell who received 846 votes.

Sixteen people, including five incumbents, sought two open seats in the each of the city’s four districts to serve on City Council. Four of the five council members retained their positions.

In District 1, Councilman S.M. Fazlul Kabir received 698 votes and former City Councilwoman Christine Nagle got 569 votes. Cory C. Fitzgerald Sanders got 170 votes.

Councilmen P.J. Brennan and Monroe S. Dennis were re-elected to represent District 2 with 160 and 135 votes, respectively. Daniel C. Blasberg Jr. received 80 votes and Vivian M. Conway got 68 votes.

The same council members will keep their seats in District 3: Robert W. Day and Stephanie E. Stullich. Stullich received the most votes with 402 and Day had 386 votes. Behind them were Ryan T. Belcher with 366 votes; John B. Rigg with 365; and Robert J. McCeney with 38.

However, voters in District 4 chose two new council members. Mary C. Cook received the most votes with 184 and behind her, Dustyn Burkart Kujawa with 163 votes. Incumbent Alan Y. Hew came in third with 130 votes and Oscar E. Gregory got 47.


More than 13,000 registered voters came out on Election Day, but the majority decided to keep the same seven council members who are all at-large.

Emmett V. Jordan retained his seat as mayor with the most votes at 1,552. He also serves on council.

Incumbent Judith F. Davis received the second highest votes with 1,412 and will serve as mayor pro tem. The remaining five incumbents to keep their seats are: Silke Pope with 1,223 votes; Konrad Herling with 1,214; Leta Mach with 1,152; Rodney M. Roberts with 1,120; and Edward V.J. Putens 1,092.

The remaining four challengers on the ballot were: Susan H. Stewart with 957 votes; George R. Boyce had 823; Kathleen Marie Shaw got 682; and Bill Orleans with 231.


Voters chose to keep the same council members seeking two open seats in Wards 1 and 2.

In Ward 1, incumbents H. Edward Ricks and Valerie Nicholas received 413 and 403 votes, respectively. Carl Dewalt got 362 votes and Jeffrey Mills with 129.

Ward 2 Council members Donna Crary and Frederick Smalls retained their seats with 384 and 359 votes, respectively. Mansoor Zia received 54 votes.

Although Mayor Craig A. Moe ran unopposed, he garnered the most votes with 1,091. At-large Councilman Michael Leszcz also didn’t have a challenger, but still received 1,062 votes.

Meanwhile in the Midwest, voters in Ohio rejected a measure to legalize marijuana. According to unofficial results on www.vote.ohio.gov, about 65 percent, or 1.8 million people, said no.

If approved, Ohio would have joined Alaska, Colorado, Washington, Oregon and the District of Columbia to make pot legal. Maryland legalized it for medical purposes more than two years ago.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *