Maryland Gov. Larry Hogan rescinded Friday the state of emergency in eight counties after a change in the predicted path of Hurricane Joaquin.

The eight counties rescinded are Allegany, Carroll, Frederick, Garrett, Howard, Montgomery, Prince George’s and Washington, the governor’s office said.

“With the storm moving away from our coasts, we are directing state resources to the counties and areas with the highest potential to need assistance,” Hogan said. “However, the majority of the state still remains under a state of emergency and rain and wind gusts could cause power outages and flooding in low-lying areas. We continue to encourage Marylanders to use common sense and look after family members and neighbors who might need help during this time.”

Fifteen counties and Baltimore City will remain under a state of emergency until further notice.

The National Weather Service issued a flash flood watch for the Washington Metropolitan area until 8 a.m. Saturday.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *