**FILE** The Morgan Boulevard Metro station in Landover, Maryland, is shown here in July 2019. (William J. Ford/The Washington Informer)
**FILE** The Morgan Boulevard Metro station in Landover, Maryland, is shown here in July 2019. (William J. Ford/The Washington Informer)

Metro closed 17 of its 91 train stations Thursday amid the global coronavirus pandemic and subsequently decreasing ridership.

The D.C. region’s transit agency also decreased bus service to allow travel for those considered essential employees at their jobs. Some bus routes during the week have operated on a Saturday schedule.

Agency officials announced the closure of two other stations — Smithsonian and Arlington Cemetery — last week to prevent people from using Metro to see the cherry blossoms around the Tidal Basin in northwest D.C.

The closures, in addition to limiting exposure to the novel coronavirus, also known as COVID-19, for Metro employees, will help preserve cleaning supplies as reserves dwindle and shipping is delayed.

Here are the closed stations, by jurisdiction:

• Northern Virginia: Arlington Cemetery, Eisenhower Avenue, Van Dorn St, Clarendon, Virginia Sq-GMU, East Falls Church, McLean and Greensboro;
• D.C.: Federal Center SW, Judiciary Square, Archives, Smithsonian, Federal Triangle, Mt. Vernon Square and Cleveland Park.
• Prince George’s County: Morgan Boulevard, Cheverly and College Park.
• Montgomery County: Grosvenor-Strathmore.

Metro, the country’s second-largest transit agency, closed eight of those stations based on low ridership. All three of the closed stations in Prince George’s County fell under this category, with College Park and Morgan Boulevard recording less than 350 trips on Monday and Cheverly only 159 trips.

Seven of the closed stations are within a mile of other operating stations. For instance, riders looking to use the now-shuttered Federal Center can go to nearby L’Enfant Plaza or Capitol South, agency officials said.

Metro will close some entrances at nine stations to “conserve cleaning supplies and create additional workforce flexibility.”

Riders are asked to use the south entrance (terminal B) at Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport in Arlington, Virginia. The north entrance (terminal C) will be closed.

Also, Metro Center in northwest D.C. will close its 12th and F streets entrance.

To view the map of the closed stations closed, go to https://www.wmata.com/schedules/maps/upload/2019-System-Map-COVID-19-stations-FINAL.pdf.

Did you like this story?
Would you like to receive articles like this in your inbox? Free!

Coverage for the Washington Informer includes Prince George’s County government, school system and some state of Maryland government. Received an award in 2019 from the D.C. Chapter of the Society of...

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *