The 2012 award winners were: Jennifer Ffrench-Parker, CrossRoadsNews; Lekan Oguntoyinbo, The Atlanta Voice; Thelma Sardin, The Chicago Citizen Group; Christian Morrow, The Pittsburgh Courier; and The St. Louis American . Pictured above are (from left) Karl Rodney, NNPA Foundation; Natalie Cole, Our Weekly; Thelma Sardin, The Chicago Citizen Group; Bernie Foster, The Skanner; James Washington, The Dallas Weekly; Kenya Vaughn, St. Louis American; Larry Waters, MillerCoors; Janis Ware, The Atlanta Voice; Rod Doss, New Pittsburgh Courier; David Miller, Our Weekly; Larissa Tyler; The Chicago Citizen; Sonny Jiles; The Houston Defender; and Jeffrey Boney, Houston Forward Times.

ATLANTA (NNPA) – Winners in five categories of the A. Philip Randolph Messenger Awards were announced Thursday night during the national convention of the National Newspaper Publishers Association.

MillerCoors, sponsor of the event, donated $30,000 to journalists who produced outstanding work in 2012. The winners in each category received $5,000 and runner-ups were awarded $500.

The winners were:

Breaking News: Jennifer French-Parker (CrossRoads News)

Commentary: Lekan Oguntoyinbo (Atlanta Voice)

Feature: Thelma Sardin (Chicago Citizen)

Sustainability: Christian Morrow (New Pittsburgh Courier)

Best Digital Presence: St. Louis American


Breaking News: Gordon Jackson, the Dallas Weekly and Lisa Loving, The Skanner News

Commentary: David Horne, Our Weekly and Jeffrey Boney, Houston Forward Times

Feature: Adrienne Leon, The Atlanta Voice (two separate stories)

Sustainability: Sherri Banks, The Atlanta Voice and Helen Silvis, The Skanner News

Digital Presence:  Houston Defender and Our Weekly


Freddie Allen is the National News Editor for the NNPA News Wire and 200-plus Black newspapers. 20 million readers. You should follow Freddie on Twitter and Instagram @freddieallenjr.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *