Amazon grants such as those awarded to two schools in Prince George's County will bring computer science courses to more than 1,000 high schools in all 50 states and the District of Columbia. (Courtesy of TechCrunch)
Amazon grants such as those awarded to two schools in Prince George's County will bring computer science courses to more than 1,000 high schools in all 50 states and the District of Columbia. (Courtesy of TechCrunch)

Central and High Point high schools are among 100 schools representing 21 states to receive $10,000 Amazon Future Engineer Robotics Grants.

Awarded by Amazon and FIRST, the grants provide funding for schools in underserved communities the opportunity to offer FIRST school robotics programs and expand computer science education opportunities for students.

“Having a company like Amazon recognize the hard work happening in these local schools is exciting and speaks to the promise our high schools can provide,” said Monica E. Goldson, interim CEO of Prince George’s County Public Schools. “This additional funding will allow students at Central and High Point high schools the chance to further develop critical thinking and teamwork skills needed for success in college and careers.”

Student Transfers

PGCPS will accept student transfer requests for the 2019-2020 school year through May 14. The original window was changed on April 12 to accommodate the addition of 21 more elementary school transfer choices.

Parents and guardians of students currently enrolled at a PGCPS school can submit transfer requests electronically through the SchoolMax Family Portal. Portal access is limited to parents and legal guardians. Parents or legal guardians must have an active SchoolMax Family Portal account (username and password).

Parents and legal guardians of students who are not currently enrolled but have a student identification number can request a student transfer form by sending an email to or contacting 301-567-8751. Completed forms must be emailed to Students entering kindergarten and not currently enrolled in a PGCPS pre-K or Early Childhood Center program must request a transfer form.

Teacher of the Year Celebration

The 2019 Teacher of the Year will be announced Saturday, May 4 during a black-tie event at The Hotel at the University of Maryland in College Park.

Organized by the Maryland State Department of Education, the Maryland Teacher of the Year program recognizes the work being done by the state’s outstanding teachers.

Drawing from a pool of nominees representing each county, one individual teacher is selected for the honor of representing Maryland in the National Teacher of the Year competition.

The event will be held from 6:30 p.m. to 9:30 p.m. Doors open at 6 p.m.

Tickets are $50 per person. For questions about the awards ceremony and sponsorship opportunities, call the Office of Partnerships and Development at 301-952-6380.

Nominees include:

Lynson Ablaza, Science Teacher, International High School at Largo

Mercy Alzate-Lynch, Science Teacher (Chair), Templeton Elementary School

Charlotte Avery, Technology Teacher, Benjamin Tasker Middle School

Ericka Banks, General Music Teacher, Ardmore Elementary School

Angelica Brooks, Choral Director, Bowie High School

Yolonda Body, Middle School Reading Teacher, Accokeek Academy

Kim Brent, Grade 2 Teacher, Avalon Elementary School

Patricia Brooks-Mackall, Kindergarten Teacher, Samuel P. Massie Academy

Kelly Burgess, AVID Teacher, Dwight D. Eisenhower Middle School

Katrina Davis, General Education Teacher & Grade Level Chair, Judith P. Hoyer Montessori School

Dr. Selena Fizer-Muse, Kindergarten Teacher, Deerfield Run Elementary School

Christine Gilliard-Arthur, Physical Education & Health Teacher & Athletic Director, International High School at Langley Park

Leasa Gudderra, General Education Teacher, Gwynn Park High School

Chloe Hill, Grade 5 Co-Teacher & Autism Chair, Paint Branch Elementary School

Lisa Holinsworth, Grade 3 Math/Science Teacher, Greenbelt Elementary School

Mariluz Mendez-Rodriguez, Kindergarten Teacher, Cesar Chavez Dual Language Spanish Charles Mills, Math Teacher, Eleanor Roosevelt High School

Cashana Morrison, Grade 3 Teacher, Robert R. Gray Elementary School

Kimberly Willis Nickens, Grade 2 Teacher, Dodge Park Elementary School

Dr. Tracy Oates, Grade 7 RELA Teacher & Professional Development Lead Teacher, Greenbelt Middle School

Jessica Ramirez, Grade 3 Teacher, Edward M. Felegy Elementary School

Colleen Raville, Grade 8 Social Studies Teacher, Martin Luther King Jr. Middle School

Geraldine Joan Rosos, ESOL Resource Teacher, Cooper Lane Elementary School

Jessica Schiery, Grade 5 Teacher, Perrywood Elementary School Immersion School

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *