As of Jan. 1, people in Virginia will no longer be able to use their cellphones while driving.

Use of devices that aren’t hands-free will be considered a primary offense, meaning police can stop motorists for that reason alone.

Violators could face a $125 fine for the first offense and $250 for the second offense or if caught while in a construction zone.

“Police can pull you over if they see you on your cellphone while you’re driving, and the penalties are kind of steep,” said Lisa Herndon, public information officer for Herndon Police Department, WDVM-TV reported.

Eighty percent of all crashes in Virginia are caused by distracted drivers talking or texting on cellphones, reading, or reaching for something, according to the Virginia Tech Transportation Institute, WDVM reported.

WI Guest Author

This correspondent is a guest contributor to The Washington Informer.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.